KBA Divisions

Kansas Ag Bankers

KBA’s Kansas Ag Bankers Division is dedicated to supporting and promoting the agricultural banking industry in Kansas. Led by a board of directors, composed of 13 ag-lending professionals from across Kansas, the KAB Division is focused on providing first-class educational opportunities for agricultural bankers, as well as providing much-needed financial support for youth and adult leadership organizations that promote Kansas agriculture and rural Kansas communities.

Through its direct relationship with the Kansas Bankers Association, the KAB Division is able to maintain a watchful eye on agricultural policy ranging from development of the Farm Bill in Congress to water policy proposals considered by the Kansas Legislature. KAB Division representatives serve on KBA’s Board of Directors as well as KBA Federal and State Affairs Committees. Looking out for the interests of the Kansas agricultural lender and their customers will always be a priority for KBA’s Kansas Ag Bankers Division. 

President
Tim Smith
First State Bank
PO Box 160
Plainville, KS 67663

Vice-President
Jay Meyer
Centera Bank
PO Box 400
Sublette, KS 67877-0400

Secretary/Treasurer
David White
INTRUST Bank, NA
PO Box 1
Wichita, KS 67201-5001

Past President
Elsa Havel
Grant County Bank
201 S. Main, PO Box 389
Ulysses, KS 67880

Robert Rugan
Farmers Bank & Trust
1017 Harrison St.
Great Bend, KS 67530

Mikel Hadachek
Astra Bank
1205 18th St., PO Box 10
Belleville, KS 66935-0010

Lucas Sawyer
Prairie Bank of Kansas Solutions
107 S Main St.
Inman, KS 67546

Carl Keith
North Bank
120 E. Main St.
Hill City, KS 67642-1927

Stephen Hendrickson
Citizens State Bank of Marysville
101 W North St
Hanover, KS 66945

Shelly Turner
Security State Bank
506 S Main St., PO Box 170
Scott City, KS 67871

Brad Zimmerman
First National Bank
PO Box 290, 501 Main
Scott City, KS 67871

Lindsey Martin
Bank of Protection
722 Main St., PO Box 157
Ashland, KS 67831

Brett Wicker
Bank of Commerce
PO Box 538
Chanute, KS 66720-1750 

Resources

Trust Division

The Trust Division of Kansas Bankers Association provides wealth management education and advocacy on behalf of the members of KBA. The division is dedicated to the trust profession and hosts two annual conferences: MOKAN Trust & Financial Services Conference and KBA Trust Conference.

Education is an essential part of the Trust Division Mission. The division provides opportunities to fulfill CLE, CFP, and CTFA credits, including the ethics requirements. The hours can be accrued by participating in the division’s annual conferences.

Trust Scholarships are available to member institutions for their staff to attend the Trust Schools of Banking. Scholarships are awarded by lottery of all trust division members paid invoices that attend the Schools of Banking Advanced Trust School or the School of Trust & Financial Services. 

President
Joe Karnes
Central National Bank
711 Wakarusa Dr.
Lawrence, KS 66049
Ph: 785-838-1962
Cell: 785-423-4693
joek@centralnational.com

President Elect
Susie Roberts
Bank of Labor
756 Minnesota Ave., Suite 100
Kansas City, KS 66101-2750
Ph: 913-288-3281
Cell: 913-568-6052
sroberts@bankoflabor.com

Secretary/Treasurer
Tyler Peachey
Peoples Bank & Trust Company
822 N. Main Street
McPherson, KS 67460
Ph: 620-241-5023
Cell: 620-877-7378
tpeachey@peoples.bank

Immediate Past President & MOKAN Treasurer
Janice Peters
Guaranty State Bank & Trust
PO Box 607
Beloit, KS 67420
Ph: 785-738-3501
Cell: 785-738-7391
jpeters@guarantystate.com

Past President
Martha Linsner
The Trust Company of Kansas
PO Box 3699
Wichita, KS 67201-3699
Ph: 316-491-6101
Cell: 316-304-1075
mlinsner@tckansas.com

Director (elected 2017)
Brian Dutton
Community National Bank & Trust
PO Box 637
Winfield, KS 67156
Ph: 620-221-1400
Cell: 620-262-1126
brian.dutton@communitynational.net

Director (elected 2017)
Chris English
The Trust Company of Kansas
730 New Hampshire, Suite 205
Lawrence, KS 66044
Ph: 785-749-0904
Cell: 785-766-7793
cenglish@tckansas.com

Director (elected 2018)
Lori Bone
Fidelity State Bank & Trust Company
Seward & Gunsmoke, Box 1120
Dodge City, KS 67801-1120
Ph: 620-227-8586
Cell:
bone@fidelitybankdc.com

Director (elected 2019)
Mark Kennedy
Citizens State Bank & Trust Company
203 N. Douglas
Ellsworth, KS 67439
Ph: 785-472-3141
Cell: 785-766-5346
mkennedy@csbanc.com

Legislative Representative
Jeff Bottenberg
BOK Financial
900 S. Kansas Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612
Ph: 785-414-3222
Cell: 785-817-1102
jbottenberg@bokf.com

KBA Staff
Brenda L. Unruh
Kansas Bankers Association
PO Box 4407
Topeka, KS 66604
Ph: 785-232-3444
Cell: 785-431-9189
bunruh@ksbankers.com

KBA Staff
LeAnn M. Mott
Kansas Bankers Association
PO Box 4407
Topeka, KS 66604
Ph: 785-232-3444
Cell: 785-250-0179
lmott@ksbankers.com 

Resources

Young Bank Officers of Kansas

KBA’s Young Bank Officers of Kansas (YBOK) Division is for young bank professionals dedicated to improving their knowledge and understanding of the Kansas banking industry. Bank officers between the ages of 22 and 45 are eligible to participate in YBOK. With over 200 members statewide, YBOK provides excellent training and professional development opportunities designed to help young bankers broaden their banking expertise.

YBOK members come from all sizes of institutions and regions in Kansas, which enables networking among peers facing similar challenges and situations. YBOK’s diverse membership also provides the unique opportunity to learn from bankers centered in a different marketplace. Networking opportunities also include two annual golf tournaments that coincide with the spring and fall conferences. YBOK members are also eligible to receive scholarships presented annually for continued education opportunities offered by the Kansas Bankers Association, Schools of Banking or Graduate Schools of Banking. 

Board of Directors

Officers
President
Brian Whitesell
Landmark National Bank
701 Poyntz Ave
Manhattan, KS 66502
Ph: 785-565-2000
bwhitesell@banklandmark.com
term ends 2021 annual meeting

Vice President
Derek Bailey
Great Western Bank
10610 Shawnee Mission Pkwy
Shawnee Mission, KS 66203-3517
Ph: 913-901-5102
Derek.Bailey@greatwestern.com
term ends 2022 annual meeting

Secretary/Treasurer
Grant Paitz
INTRUST Bank NA
PO Box 1
Wichita, KS 67201-5001
Ph: 316-383-1790
Grant.Paitz@INTRUSTWealth.com
term ends 2023 annual meeting

Past President
Sara Girard
Central National Bank Branch
800 SE Quincy St.
Topeka, KS 66612-1114
Ph: 785-234-2265
sarag@centralnational.com
term ends 2020 annual meeting 

 

Directors

Region 1
Francis Scheuerman
UMB Bank
PO Box 419226
Kansas City, KS 64106-2202
Ph: 816-860-7000
francis.scheuerman@umb.com
1st term ends at 2021 annual meeting

Laura Polite
Kendall State Bank
PO Box 188
Valley Falls, KS 66088-0188
Ph: 785-945-3231
lpolite@kendallstatebank.com
1st term ends at 2021 annual meeting

Region 2
Chris Baker
Bank VI
PO Box 77
Salina, KS 67402-0077
Ph: 785-825-4321
chrisb@banksix.com
2nd term ends 2022 annual meeting

Nick Wolfe
United Bank & Trust
PO Box 311
Marysville, KS 66508-1802
Ph: 785-562-2333
nwolfe@ubankonline.com
1st term ends 2020 annual meeting

Region 3
Chelsea Barker
First National Bank of Hutchinson
PO Box 913
Hutchinson, KS 67504-0913
Ph: 620-560-6137
Chelsea.barker@fnbhutch.bank
2nd term ends 2022 annual meeting

Tami Molloy
Citizens Bank of Kansas Branch
PO Box 330
Derby, KS 67037-1824
Ph: 316-788-1111
tmolloy@cbok.com
1st term ends 2021 annual meeting 

 

At-Large Representatives 

Rocky Anderson
Alliance Bank
3001 SW Wanamaker Rd
Topeka, KS 66614
Ph: 785-228-8345
randerson@alliancebank.biz
1st term ends 2022 annual meeting

Cameron Cooper
Patriots Bank
PO Box 327
Garnett, KS 66032-0327
Ph: 785-448-3191
ccooper@patriotsbank.com
2nd term ends 2022 annual meeting

Dave Bennett
The University National Bank
1400 Kasold Dr
Lawrence, KS 66049-3424
Ph: 785-841-1988
dbennett@unbank.com
1st term ends 2022 annual meeting 

 

Ambassadors

Kara Cramer
BKD LLP KC
1201 Walnut, Ste. 1700
Kansas City, MO 64106
Ph: 816-221-6300
kcramer@bkd.com
term ends 2020

Tyler Walden
Allen Gibbs & Houlik LC
301 N Main St STE 1700
Wichita, KS 67202-4868
Ph: 316-291-4031
tyler.walden@aghlc.com
term ends 2022

Mike Brown
Security 1st Title
727 N Waco Ave STE 300
Wichita, KS
Ph: 316-267-8371
mjbrown@security1st.com
term ends 2021 

 

Kansas Bankers Association Staff

Alex Orel
PO Box 4407
Topeka, KS 66604-0407
P-785-232-3444
aorel@ksbankers.com

Nicole Ortiz
PO Box 4407 
Topeka, KS 66604-0407
P-785-232-3444
nortiz@ksbankers.com

Resources